It’s Hotter Than Satan’s House-Cat Today!

DSCN3395

Howdy, everyone. It’s me, the New Preppinwolf, Tucker here. I don’t know where y’all are from, but around here the weather today is HOT. Hotter than two hamsters farting in a wool sock. It’s so dang hot that I just saw a hound dog chasing a rabbit—and they were both walking. This heat makes me tired. If it gets any hotter, I’ll have to take off stuff I really ought to keep on. Never mind that Mum’s already trimmed and shaved all my bits and butt.

The heat wave started yesterday, so Mum had let the month-old chicks out in the run. Here’s a couple pics. I think two of ’em were still in the coop when Mum took the photos.

week 4-5 (14)week 4-5 (16)

What you don’t see is me ‘n Moosey running back and forth outside the pen puttin’ a good scare into these little crazy birds. Mum went in and had to catch them one by one and stick them in the coop so she could close it up for the night. Good timing, too, since one heck of a down-pour blowed in just a few minutes later. It didn’t last long, but the chicks didn’t come back out last night any more.

They’re allowed out again today, but Mum and our Man were mowing and weed whacking around there – well, the whole yard of course. The chicks either hadn’t come out, or they scrambled back indoors when they first heard the motors rumblin’ towards the coops.

Anyway, I don’t plan to do much more today, and only go out after dark when it hopefully cools down.

Don’t forget to check in later this week when Mum will post more pics of the two new flocks under the Chicken Chronicles tab. If you’re new to this blog, check out some of the other projects Mum has done since becoming a “hobby farmer.”

I’m gonna find me some more cool tile now. Later ‘gaters.

Leave a comment