And So It Begins!

DSCN3919

Had only started checking the small coops this week wondering when I’d see our first egg from the new girls…and today I got one! Pretty much on time, too as the Fourth Flock turned 17 weeks this past Tuesday.

I started to think “how am I going to know which of my fourteen chicks laid first?”, then realized it’s actually “which of my eight Fourth Flock girls laid first”! The six from the Fourth-and-a-Half flock won’t start laying for about another month – and their eggs should all be some shade of blue or green! I can’t wait!

As for the older girls, well, some have already started molting so it’s hard to tell who might be my active ones. I collected six eggs yesterday (five brown, one blue) out of twelve total hens – eleven if you discount Li’l Half-blind Girl. Today, four more brown eggs. The three left of the First Flock are over five years old now, so there won’t be very many blue or green eggs from them anymore. The ratio is about two blue to ten brown eggs in every carton I collect.

I apologize if anyone came looking for updated photos of the two young flocks this past week…time just gets away from me. I will try and add more pics soon.

UPDATE: 8/24/19 I did post a few more shots. You can check out all the girls under the Chicken Chronicles tab.

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a comment